Evoor Temple
thazhakara@gmail.com | phone: +91 479 2305321



Kali Yuga, the age indicating the period of darkness and degeneration commenced about 3100 BC. Many Hindus believe that the presiding deity of this yugam [period] is LORD MURUGAN [Kali Yuga Varathan], whose VEL that symbolises the spear of victory, will eventually restore peace and harmony, destroying arrogance, violence and injustice. The worship of LORD MURUGAN goes back to the pre-Christian era, and forms an important facet in the religious life of Hindus.
His vehicle or Vahana is the peacock: this is by way of representation that he has entirely conquered pride, egoism, and vanity. There is a cobra under His Feet: this is to indicate that He is absolutely fearless, immortal and wise. The peacock is the enemy of the serpent. It is seen clutching the serpent with its claws. The serpent is not killed but held in captivity. This symbolises complete control over the ego. The serpent represents the ego.
Sometimes He stands alone with the Vel. He is called by the name of Dandapani. This represents His Nirguna aspect which is free from Maya. The six heads represent the six rays or the six attributes viz. Jnana (wisdom), Vairagya (dispassion), Bala (strength), Keerthi (fame), Sree (wealth) and Aishvarya (divine powers). They indicate that He is the source for the four Vedas and the six schools of philosophy; that He has controlled the five Jnana Indriyas and the mind. They denote that He is the Virat Purusha with countless heads.
They signify that His head is turned everywhere (Visvatomukha): He is all-pervading. They indicate that He is omnipotent and that He can multiply and assume forms at His will. The term Murugan, in Tamil, denotes the Deity possessed of non-decaying beauty, everlasting youth and Godliness. The most important form of worship that a human being can offer unto the Lord is by not hurting others either by thought or word or deed. Only then life in nature becomes smooth and happy. It is this kind of worship and life that the Skanda Purana teaches us through the worship of the Saguna form of Lord Skanda.

Arupadai veedu (Six abodes of Lord Murugan)
Arupadai veedu (Six abodes of Lord Murugan) are the six temples of Hindu God Murugan, son of Lord Shiva situated in the state of Tamil Nadu. Lord Murugan’s six most important shrines in India are the Six Abodes also known as ‘Arupadai Veedu’, literally meaning six warhouses or homeland for Karthikeya and his devotees. All the six temples located in Tamil Nadu are listed and sorted in the sequence:
1. Tirupparamkundram
2. Tiruchendur
3. Palani(Tiruvavinankudi)
4. Swami Malai(Tiruverakam)
5. Tiruttani (Kundruthor?dal)
6. Palamutirch?lai


Swami Malai(Tiruverakam)

Tiruttani (Kundruthor?dal)